Death on a Winters by Verity

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog tour for Death on a Winter’s Day as I make a very welcome return to the Lady Swift Mysteries.

Synopsis

Christmas at the castle with holly, handmade gifts, snowflakes and… is that a body under the tree? Someone call Lady Swift!

Winter, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, amateur sleuth and reluctant lady of the manor, has been invited to spend Christmas in Scotland, at the beautiful castle of her dear friends Baron and Baroness Ashley. Even her favourite companion, master of mischief Gladstone the bulldog, is coming along to share a slice of turkey. As snow begins to fall outside, the rather mismatched group are cozy by the roaring fire, sharing a tipple over a plate of Mrs Trotman’s famous mince pies.

But after what was supposed to be a fun party game, Mr Eugene Randall is found dead at the feast. A somewhat unpopular business associate of the Baron’s from across the pond, it seems Mr Randall has certainly upset somebody. Was it what he said about Scottish whisky?

The killer must be in the castle… and when the Baron is arrested, Baroness Ashley begs Eleanor to investigate. Determined not to let her friend down, Eleanor sets about questioning the remaining partygoers.

All too swiftly, someone else is found dead, having apparently fallen from a high balcony. As if one murder wasn’t enough to put a twist in the tinsel! Eleanor knows she’s skating on thin ice now. And when she discovers a hidden document that points the finger of suspicion at the unlikeliest of suspects, she realises there’s more to the story. 

Can Eleanor catch the killer before it’s time for Christmas dinner?

The perfect cozy mystery to curl up with this winter! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss are in for a festive treat.

Death on a Winters Day is available now in paperback, on ebook and audiobook
My thoughts

Oh my but I never get bored of this series! It has been a joy to spend Christmas with Lady Elenaor Swift and her loyal staff as they decamp from the Manor and spend Christmas in a Castle in Scotland. There will be snow, there will be lots of delicious food and of course there will be murder. Once again Lady Swift is caught up in grisly deeds and with the help of her trusty butler Clifford begins to seek the culprit before an innocent (or is he???) man is condemned.

As always it is wonderful to spend time in the company of such a warm, funny and charismatic bunch of characters – with a few questionable sorts thrown in too. At first I was concerned that her dashing detective wouldn’t make it in to the pages of this latest instalment but I am delighted to say he makes a rather memorable appearance – no more here though as I don’t want to spoil anything. This is such a charming, fun filled series and I love how each book brings us a little further into Eleanor’s life and her past. I can feel the ongoing mystery surrounding her parents slowly being revealed and it always adds some poignant moments to the story. Absolutely loving it and I can’t wait for the next book.

In short this is a wonderfully witty and festive piece of escapism.

Many thanks to Sarah at Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour. It’s been a pleasure as always.

About the author

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity
Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3qOZpoS
Audio Links:UK: zpr.io/fTeJ8rAQjLGR
US: zpr.io/8R94J4qaVH6U
Listen to a sample here:
https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/death-on-a-winters-day-by-verity-bright-narrated-by-karen-cass

Confident woman at office with laptop computer, mobile phone, and schedule notebook.Gradients, Blending tool, Clipping mask is used.

One thought on “Death on a Winters by Verity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.