A Royal Murder by Verity Bright

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for A Royal Murder, another fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift murder mystery by Verity Bright.

Synopsis

At the royal boat race there are beautiful barges, plenty of bunting, a handsome prince and… is that a body in the water? Lady Swift is on the case!

Spring, 1923. One-time adventurer and now amateur sleuth Lady Eleanor Swift is attending the annual royal regatta with her new pal Tipsy Fitzroy. Tipsy has Eleanor trussed up like a debutante in a new dress, determined to turn her into a proper society lady. Even Eleanor’s favourite companion, Gladstone the bulldog, has a new outfit for the occasion.

But the sparkling prize-giving ceremony is interrupted when the devilishly handsome host gulps his glass of champagne on stage and collapses to the floor. The victim is none other than the king’s cousin, Lord Xander Taylor-Howard. He was rumoured to be entangled in a rather dubious gambling ring, but did someone kill him instead of collecting his debt? Or was this simply an ill-timed tragic accident? Either way, a right royal scandal is afoot…

Sir Percival, the head of the royal police, asks Eleanor for her help investigating. He’d do anything to keep the story under wraps. She knows it will get her into hot water with a certain dapper Detective Seldon, but she’s determined to see justice done. However, as she digs deeper, she learns Lord Taylor-Howard was hiding more than one murky secret. It isn’t until she takes a closer look at the unfortunate royal’s shattered champagne flute that she stumbles upon just the clue she needs. But can she reel in the killer before her ship is sunk too?

A warm and witty 1920s mystery that cozy fans will just adore. Addictive reading for fans of T E Kinsey, Lee Strauss and Agatha Christie.

My thoughts

I must admit, starting a new Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery is like returning to visit old friends again and this weekend it provided me with the perfect piece of escapism as I endeavoured to disappear from the dark skies that weigh heavy on our rather scary current affairs. And escape I did with Lady Eleanor and her ever faithful butler, Clifford. I adore these novels. They are fun, feisty and cosy – a little like Lady Eleanor herself.

This time we join Eleanor as her new friend Tipsy, takes on the project of turning Eleanor into the society lady befitting of her standing. Those who are familiar with Lady Eleanor will know that Tipsy is fighting a losing battle but it’s jolly good fun watching her try. It isn’t long though before a death occurs and Eleanor is once again embroiled in finding the killer. This time the victim is a Royal who, to make matters worse, is poisoned in full view of a marquee full of people.

There is of course danger at every turn and once again Lady Eleanor, Clifford and Chief Inspector Seldon are in the thick of it. Scandal, secrets and lies surround them but they soon find there way to the shocking truth… and hopefully before they too meet a grisly end.

Absolutely joyous and I do so adore the sense of fun that is injected in to these novels. With a great cast of characters (including Gladstone the bulldog), an intriguing mystery and the glamour of the roaring twenties, this was another absolute delight from start to finish.

Thank you so much to the lovely Sarah at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for a digital copy to read and review. It’s been an absolute pleasure as always.

About the author

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

The blog tour continues until March 6th, 2022.

One thought on “A Royal Murder by Verity Bright

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.