The Book Share by Phaedra Patrick

Synopsis

It’s never too late to start a new chapter…

The utterly charming and feel-good new novel from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Sunshine and The Library of Lost and Found

Liv Green loves losing herself in a good book. But her everyday reality is less romantic, cleaning houses for people who barely give her the time of day. So when she lands a job housekeeping for her personal hero and mega-bestselling author Essie Starling, she can’t believe her luck.

When Essie dies unexpectedly, Liv is left with a life-changing last wish: to complete Essie’s final novel. To do so, change-averse Liv will have to step away from the fictitious worlds in her head, and into Essie’s shoes. As she begins to write, she uncovers a surprising connection between the two women – and a secret that will change Liv’s life forever…

Brimming with joy and packed with a sparkling cast of characters, The Book Share is a moving reminder that it’s never too late to re-write your own story – perfect for fans of All the Lonely People and The Authenticity Project.

My thoughts

I love Phaedra Patrick. She writes wonderful, uplifting reads that take you away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. Her characters are engaging and hugely likeable and all this she continues to deliver with The Book Share. Light hearted but with a great deal of heart this was a lovely book to disappear into for a while. I have to say that I did try to second guess what was gong to happen and I am delighted to say that I didn’t get there. What I did get was a story that made me care bout Liv, Essie and reminded me that my own hopes and dreams are just as important and that it is never to late to follow them. Liv finds the courage to find her own way and that is something we all aspire to do. Another lovely read from the author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and The Secrets of Sunshine.

Many thanks to the lovely team at HQ Stories for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for supplying me with a digital review copy, It was charming and an absolute delight to read.

About the author

Phaedra Patrick studied art and marketing and has worked as a stained glass artist, film festival organiser and communications manager. An award-winning short story writer, she now writes full time in Saddleworth where she lives with her family. 

Her debut novel, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper, was translated into over twenty languages worldwide and has been optioned by a major Hollywood film studio. Her second novel, Rise and Shine, Benedict Stone (named Wishes Under the Willow Tree in the UK), is also under option in the US as a TV movie. Her third novel is The Library of Lost and Found, and the fourth one is titled The Secrets of Love Story Bridge (The Secrets of Sunshine in the UK).

You can find/follow Phaedra at http://www.phaedra-patrick.com where she shares more information and writing tips. She’s also on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.