The French For Murder by Verity Bright

Dear readers

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest Lady Swift mystery and this time we are travelling to France where Eleanor manages to get herself mixed up in murder yet again!

Synopsis

A grand villa, croissants for breakfast and a dead body in the wine cellar… Lady Swift can’t seem to take a vacation from murder!

Summer 1923. Lady Eleanor Swift is finally persuaded by her butler, Clifford, to take a villa in the south of France for the season. She plans to do what a glamorous lady abroad should: long lunches on the balcony followed by lazy afternoons lounging by the pool. Even Gladstone the bulldog is looking forward to a daily paddle in the ocean.

But when Clifford examines the wine cellar, he discovers there are no decent reds but there is a very dead body. The victim is famous American movie star Rex Armstrong. Poor Rex seems to have been stabbed with a sword from the film set. So how did he end up in Eleanor’s villa?

Before Eleanor even has time to change out of her travelling suit, her beloved butler is arrested for the crime. At sea without her right-hand man, Eleanor must gather her wits if she’s to outsmart a murderer and save Clifford.

Attending a glitzy party at the luxurious Hotel Azure with the film’s cast and crew so she can question her main suspects, Eleanor overhears the director having a most unsettling telephone call that throws all her theories out of the water. Can Eleanor unmask the true killer before her time abroad is cut murderously short?

A gripping historical murder mystery full of charm and intrigue, set in the beautiful French Riviera. Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss will adore The French for Murder.

My thoughts

It is always a delight to return the world of Clifford, Gladstone the Bulldog and of course Lady Swift. This time we are joining them on a trip to sunny France as they attempt to have a quiet, relaxing holiday. Those dreams come to an abrupt end when Clifford (whilst taking an inventory of the rented villa’s wine cellar) discovers a dead body mere minutes after their arrival! Clifford is immediately arrested for the crime by the French police and it is down to Lady Swift to rescue him from the cells.

Once again she and her trusty butler are tied up in events that lead them into mortal danger and their trusty, handsome Chief Inspector is back in England blissfully unaware and therefore unable to assist. Eleanor shows her usual grit and determination however to uncover the true culprit using every means at her disposal. It’s not long until she discovers that some visiting Americans and a movie director are top of her list of subjects and so she throws herself in to the movie world and some rather undignified partying to get to the bottom of things. It looks like dear Clifford may have to turn a blind eye to some most unladylike behaviour as she tries to discover the truth of who murdered a world famous movie star in the cellar of her rented villa.

Along the way she does of course enjoy some wonderful food and of course the odd dip in a pool as she tries to deduce who the murderer is. An absolute delight as always although I did miss our lovely Chief Inspector but I have high hopes he will be featuring much more in book twelve, Death Down The Aisle.

Thank you so much to lovely Sarah at Bookoutre for inviting me on board this blog tour. It’s always a pleasure to read a Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery novel and this latest offering didn’t disappoint at all. I thoroughly recommend this series to any lovers of cosy crime novels although I do suggest to begin with book one – A Very English Murder.

About the author

Verity Bright

Confident woman at office with laptop computer, mobile phone, and schedule notebook.Gradients, Blending tool, Clipping mask is used.

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Verity Bright here: https://www.bookouture.com/verity-bright/

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09SZSXT2Lsocial

Photo by Giftpundits.com on Pexels.com

Thank you for visiting Tales before Bedtime today – i hope you’ll come back again soon.

One thought on “The French For Murder by Verity Bright

  1. Hi Shelley – thank you for the lovely review – I’m so pleased you enjoyed The French For Murder. And yes, Hugh is featured front and centre in Death Down The Aisle 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.