2+, 3+, 5+, 7+, Poetry, Review, Summer Reads

Dinosaur Poems: A selection of verses and rhymes with real bite! By John Foster and Korky Paul

If you thought dinosaurs were extinct, then think again! They live on in the stomping, chomping, growling, howling poem collection. So if you’re looking for poetry with a prehistoric twist, look no further than this sensational selection.

Poet John Foster was an English Teacher for twenty years but has been compiling poetry anthologies since 1979 and has written twelve of his own. He has a website crammed with poetry and inspiration and well worth a visit. Dinosaur Poems is an anthology of poems entirely about dinosaurs. It’s a fantastically funny and informative collection of rhyming poems that are perfect for reading aloud. I particularly loved ‘Ten Dancing Dinosaurs’ and ‘The Bookoceros or Ancient Thesaurus’.

The illustrations to accompany this fine collection of dino poems are provided by the rather wonderful Korky Paul (you may have enjoyed his work on the Winnie & Wilbur series). I adore his illustrations. They are filled with humour and interesting details that bring the words alive and adds another dimension to reading the poetry (I particularly love the bunny slippers for ‘Dinosaur Stomp’). There is always plenty to point at with Korky’s illustrations!

This is a brilliant little book of poetry. It is paperback and size wise is about the size of an A5 notebook. There are 21 poems to share and once you’ve finished reading them why not have a go at writing your own. 🙂

Dinosaur Poems is published by Oxford University Press Children’s Books. It was originally published in Hardback back in 1993 but is now available in paperback with Korky’s fabulous illustrations.

The paperback ISBN no is: 9780192767486 and should be available from all good book shops. For more information why not check out the publisher website.

Thank you so much to the lovely team at OUP for sending me a review copy. I absolutely loved it.

Advertisements
5+, 7+, Chapter Books, Children's Fiction, Tales Before Bedtime Juniors

Tales Before Bedtime Recommends – Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover by Harriet Muncaster

51SLe57CVfL._AC_UL436_.jpg

Isadora Moon is special

because she is different.

Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she is a bit of both.

When Isadora is invited to stay at her friend Zoe’s house she’s excited – she hasn’t been to a sleepover before! There will be midnight feasts, and staying up all night, it’s going to be so much fun!

And while she’s there, Isadora and Zoe are going to work on their cake for a baking competition at school. But will they be able to resist adding a sprinkling of magic to their creation. . . ?

With irresistible pink and black artwork throughout by author/illustrator Harriet Muncaster and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books. Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O’Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

This is another delightful Isadora Moon story that is perfect for sharing with your young book lovers or for emerging independent readers to try on their own.  I’ve adored these books right from the very first Isadora Moon Goes To School, not only are they beautifully presented but Isadora is such a sweet little vampire/fairy that you can’t help but fall in love with her.

About the author

Harriet Muncaster

A1v4OWu4yHL._US230_Harriet Muncaster is the author and illustrator of the Isadora Moon series of young reader books, published by Oxford University Press. So far Isadora Moon has been translated into nearly twenty different languages, including Spanish, Italian, Romanian and Japanese, and is available as an audio book.

Harriet has also published picture books with Penguin US, Harper Collins US, and Parragon Publishing. She won the Blue Hen Book Award for her first picture book I am a Witch’s Cat, and was highly commended for the MacMilllan Prize while studying for her second Illustration degree.

Harriet lives with her husband and daughter near some beautiful countryside in Bedfordshire, England.

 

 

5+, 7+, Children's Fiction, Stories to Share

The Royal Rabbits of London: The Great Diamond Chase by Santa Montefiore & Simon Sebag Montefiore – Illustrated by Kate Hindley

 The biggest, most beautiful diamond in the world has been stolen from Buckingham Palace! Shylo and the brave Royal Rabbits of London will do whatever it takes to crack the case and return the jewel to its rightful place.

Then they discover that Russia’s elite sharp-toothed secret-agent minks are in London. Could they have anything to do with the theft? But nothing is quite what it seems, and the Royal rabbits soon realise they might need a bit of help from an old friend to solve this mystery.

810ZgM-t1+L._AC_UL436_.jpg

This is the third in The Royal Rabbits of London series and if you are still yet to discover these brave, regal rabbits then boy are you in for a treat. They will hop their way into your hearts and you now have three fantastic tales to catch up on.

Now, you may think that the Royal family is under the protection of the Secret Service and the Royal Guard. But what you may not be aware of is that there is also a team of brave rabbits watching over them. The Royal Rabbits of London are a ‘secret society devoted to protecting the Royal Family and evil across the world.’

These books are fun and full of adventure, with characters you and your young readers will fall in love with. These little rabbits teach us about courage, loyalty, doing what you feel is right, and the importance of believing in yourself – even when you do make mistakes.

Beautifully illustrated throughout and just perfect to share or for confident young readers to read alone.

IMG_20190404_085431__01.jpg
Shylo and Horatio crept outside to sit beneath the Weeping Willow.

 

About the authors

Santa Montefiore

santa-montefiore-31499535
Photo taken by Elaine Fattal and sourced from the Simon and Schuster website.

Santa Montefiore’s books have been translated into more than twenty-five languages and have sold more than six million copies in England and Europe. She is married to writer Simon Sebag Montefiore. They live with their two children, Lily and Sasha, in London. Visit her at SantaMontefiore.co.uk. You can also follow Santa on Twitter at @SantaMontefiore.

 

Simon Sebag Montefiore

5447_48016113
Photo taken by Ian Jones and sourced from the Simon and Schuster website.

Simon Sebag Montefiore’s bestselling and prize-winning books are now published in over forty-five languages. His new book The Romanovs: 1613–1918 has been universally acclaimed and is already a bestseller in the UK, Australia, and the USA where it was on the New York Times bestseller list for eight weeks. Montefiore has won literary prizes for both fiction and nonfiction. His latest novel, One Night in Winter won the Best Political Novel of the Year Prize and was longlisted for the Orwell Prize. He is now writing the third novel in this trilogy.

Follow Simon on Twitter at @SimonMontefiore. For more information visit SimonSebagMontefiore.com .

About the Illustrator

Kate Hindley

Kate Hindley is an illustrator who graduated from Falmouth School of Art in 2008. Kate lives in Worcestershire.You can follow Kate on Twitter at @hindleyillos.  For more information visit KateHindley.com

IMG_20190404_084141__01.jpg

The Royal Rabbits series is published by Simon and Schuster AND there is a 4th adventure coming this Autumn!  I am very excited about that. You can follow Simon and Schuster on Twitter at @simonkids_uk